If you haven’t completed high school, obtaining a high school equivalency diploma through the GED® test might be a suitable option. The GED® (General Educational Development) is a high school equivalency test designed for individuals who couldn’t finish high school. It demonstrates that you possess the same knowledge and skills as someone who completed high school in the USA, and upon passing, you receive a certificate offering equivalent opportunities to a high school diploma.

Key Differences between GED® and High School Diploma:

  • The GED® is a credential earned by passing exams in four different subjects, while a high school diploma is achieved after completing four years of high school.
  • The GED® is considered equal to a high school diploma, signifying proficiency at the 12th-grade level.

Importance of the GED®:

  • Obtaining a GED® is crucial for individuals who didn’t finish high school, as it opens up opportunities for better education and the pursuit of new professions at universities.
  • It enhances job prospects, leading to better-paying positions across various fields such as administration, community and social services, healthcare, sales, and transportation.

Overview of the GED® Test

The GED® evaluates your proficiency in math, language arts, social studies, and science through four distinct subject tests. The assessment includes various question formats such as multiple-choice, drag and drop, fill-in-the-blank, select an area, and dropdown. The language arts test additionally incorporates an essay question. It is possible to take the tests in either English or Spanish.

Tests you on
Mathematical Reasoning
45 questions
115 mins

Understanding of math concepts including geometry and algebra.

Language Arts
53 questions
1 essay question
90 mins
45 mins
Ability to understand reading materials
Ability to write and share your ideas and arguments
Social Studies
35 questions
70 mins
Knowledge of US history, geography, civics, government, and economics
34-35 questions
90 mins
Use of scientific ideas and reading graphs and charts

Learn more about each subject test.

Eligibility and Test Information

  • To take the GED® test, you must reside in one of the 41 states offering the GED® or explore alternative options like the HiSET exam if it’s not available in your state.
  • Eligibility criteria vary by state, with many states allowing individuals aged 18 and older to take the exam. In some cases, individuals aged 16 or 17 may be eligible, while preparation classes may be required before the exam.
  • U.S. citizenship is not mandatory, but proof of identity and, in some states, proof of state residence is required.

International Diplomas:

  • If you hold a high school diploma from another country, you may need a HiSET or GED® credential. Colleges and employers might require an evaluation of your foreign diploma to determine its equivalence to a U.S. high school diploma.

GED® Test Structure:

  • The GED® tests individuals in four subjects: Mathematical Reasoning, Language Arts, Social Studies, and Science, with varying question formats such as multiple-choice, drag and drop, fill-in-the-blank, and more.
  • The entire exam takes seven hours to complete, with each subject test taking 70 to 150 minutes. Tests can be taken on separate days either at a testing center or online if offered in your state.

Passing Score and Preparation:

  • A passing score of 145 or higher is required on each of the four subject tests to obtain a GED diploma.
  • To prepare for the GED® test, Takemygedtest.com offers online GED test help covering social studies, language arts, science, and mathematics, available in English and Spanish. A free online practice test is also available for each subject.