What happens if you don’t pass the GED Test?

Individuals who do not pass a GED test have the opportunity to retake it. To schedule a GED test retakes, it is essential to adhere to your state’s retake policy and go through the registration process again. In the case of the Online Proctored Exam, a single retake is allowed before a 60-day waiting period is imposed. After attempting a test subject twice online, a 60-day wait is required before retesting. Most states do not impose a yearly testing limit. For in-person testing at a Test Center, if you do not pass a GED® test subject, you have two consecutive retests available, with no restrictions between retakes. If you fail on the third or subsequent retest, a 60-day waiting period is enforced before your next attempt. Visit policy page for more details.

What are the Policies for Retaking the Exams?

In many instances, GED test retakes is allowed without a waiting period between attempts. This means you can choose to retake the exam only days after your initial attempt. Generally, candidates can retake the test twice (totaling 3 testing attempts) without any waiting period. Candidates need to retake only the specific subject in which they failed to achieve 145 and above points. For the first two retakes within a year, candidates are eligible for a $10 discount on each failed subject. Following three attempts, the standard fees of $36 for the online exam and $30 for a testing center exam apply. After the third attempt, a 60-day waiting period is enforced before the test can be retaken. This policy is applicable in some states. In states marked with an asterisk, waiting periods also apply to students who switch the language of their test.

Retake Policies in Some States 

  • Maryland imposes a restriction of three GED test retakes per year for students.
  • Nevada mandates a 60-day waiting period after a third attempt on a GED test. Students are required to take all GED tests before becoming eligible for any retake.
  • In North Dakota, students needing to retake a GED exam face a 3-day waiting period, which also applies to scheduling their second retake. Following the third failed attempt, a 60-day waiting period is enforced.
  • Guam enforces a 10-day waiting period after the initial test attempt. After three failures, students must wait 60 days before taking the test again.
  • Virginia students experience a 60-day waiting period after their third attempt at a test. The same waiting period applies following any subsequent failed attempt, such as after the sixth attempt. This waiting period is also applicable to students in Washington.
  • Nebraska enforces a 30-day waiting period before allowing a retake. After failing on the third attempt in a GED exam, candidates must wait 60 days to attempt the test again.

How much does it cost to retake the GED‌®‌ test?

Your GED test cost includes a $20 GED Testing Service fee.  You do not need to pay the $20 Testing Service fee again for the GED test retakes. This applies to a maximum of 2 retakes. In order to receive these discounts, you must retake the test within 1 year of your original test date. The testing center fee also vary from one state to the other. Candidates who choose to retake the exam are ineligible for the waiver fee and pay $36 for testing service. The fee retake policy for online exam applies to all states except for New York and Maryland that offer a discounted online retakes.

Continue reading: How Much Does a GED Cost?

What is the limit on the number of times you can take a GED test?

There is no limit to the number of times you can take a GED test. However, you must adhere to your state’s waiting period guidelines, and after attempting the test three times, you are required to pay the full test fee again. This cycle continues, meaning that if you take the test a sixth time and remain dissatisfied with your score, you will need to pay the full test fee to attempt it a seventh time.

What Is The Passing Score Of The GED Score?

Attaining a score of 145 or higher on all four subjects is the minimum requirement to earn your GED. However, this threshold represents just the starting point within the range of scores achievable on the GED test. Scoring between 145 and 164 falls within the passing range, indicating a basic understanding of the subject matter and meeting the requirements for obtaining the GED credential. For those aspiring to excel further, scoring between 165 and 174 is considered above average or college-ready. This signifies not only a solid grasp of the material but also readiness for college-level courses. As scores progress within this range, the individual’s academic proficiency becomes increasingly evident, providing access to more advanced educational opportunities. The highest GED test scores fall within the range of 175 to 200 points.

How Can I Avoid Retaking The GED Test?

How can I avoid GED test retakes? The answer lies in seeking expert GED test help. Takemygedtest.com offers a perfect solution for you. We have a team of experienced GED expert test takers who can take the GED test on your behalf. The experienced team at Takemygedtest.com consists of subject matter experts well-versed in all the four sections of the GED test. Their expertise not only ensures a passing score but also ensures you achieve higher scores. They guarantee you top scores. If we fail to deliver a top score for your GED test, we offer you a refund. Additionally, we offer our services at affordable prices, making higher scores on the GED test accessible to a broader range of individuals.

Hire Expert now for Top GED score!